Coverart for item
The Resource Jalan Jalan : a novel of Indonesia, Mike Stoner

Jalan Jalan : a novel of Indonesia, Mike Stoner

Label
Jalan Jalan : a novel of Indonesia
Title
Jalan Jalan
Title remainder
a novel of Indonesia
Statement of responsibility
Mike Stoner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"**Winner of The Guardian London's Self-published Book of the Month Award** Set on the lush tropical island of Sumatra, Jalan Jalan is the story of one man's attempt to escape from himself and the memory of his dead girlfriend. On the first page our narrator arrives in Indonesia, having taken a job in a ragtag language school where his fellow teachers are all misfits seemingly on the run from the realities of life in their home countries. "What sort of idiot takes a job after a five minute phone interview, in a country he knows nothing much about and on the other side of the world, in a school he's never heard of? Me idiot. That's who!" says the disaffected Newbie--a nickname given to him by his colleagues. This story of a quest for salvation in an exotic foreign land will appeal to fans of Alex Garland's The Beach, Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Malcolm Lowry's Under the Volcano. The title of the book comes from the Indonesian phrase jalan jalan ("walk walk") which one of the characters describes as: "Just fu$ & ing walking man. Out for a stroll." To Newbie, whose real name is never revealed until the book's final page, the phrase aptly sums up the emotional detachment he seeks. Yet despite himself, he cannot help being transformed by his new experiences. Characters in the novel include Charles, a dubious Indonesian nightclub owner; Kim, Newbie's dope-smoking Californian housemate; down-to-earth Julie, taciturn Marty and neurotic Geoff--all fellow teachers at his school; and Eka, a sensuous Indonesian prostitute who becomes his lover and primary solace. Newbie's late girlfriend Laura remains a ghostly presence, tormenting him with memories of their past, as the narrative weaves between richly textured descriptions of life on the beautiful island of Sumatra and the languid English seaside town where they once lived. Through internal dialogues and flashbacks, we learn of their past and of the day Laura's mother called to say she had died in a horrific traffic accident. Newbie does his best to reinvent himself, throwing himself into the life of a reckless young expat--drinking, taking drugs, and exploring Indonesia's breathtaking landscapes. There are moments of enlightenment--when he takes magic mushrooms for the first time, sees orangutans in the wild, and helps Charles reunite with his wife. But he cannot escape the memory of Laura, and has an alcohol and drug-fuelled breakdown on what would have been her birthday. Charles arranges an exorcism with an Indonesian shaman, who, in a surreal scene on a deserted beach, not only makes the ghost of Laura disappear but plants a strong suggestion in Newbie's head that time isn't linear, that the events of the past may never have happened--and that Laura might still be alive!"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stoner, Mike
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6119.T684
LC item number
J35 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • English fiction
  • Self-realization
  • Sumatra (Indonesia)
Label
Jalan Jalan : a novel of Indonesia, Mike Stoner
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
287 pages
Isbn
9780804846295
Lccn
2015031101
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn915493934
  • (OCoLC)915493934
  • 946729
Label
Jalan Jalan : a novel of Indonesia, Mike Stoner
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
287 pages
Isbn
9780804846295
Lccn
2015031101
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn915493934
  • (OCoLC)915493934
  • 946729

Library Locations

    • Des Moines Public Library CentralBorrow it
      1000 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA, 50309, US
      41.5860906 -93.63119350000001
Processing Feedback ...