The Resource Look alive out there : essays, Sloane Crosley

Look alive out there : essays, Sloane Crosley

Label
Look alive out there : essays
Title
Look alive out there
Title remainder
essays
Statement of responsibility
Sloane Crosley
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The characteristic heart and punch-packing observations are back, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. Fans of I Was Told There'd Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number know Sloane Crosley's life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In Look Alive Out There, whether it's scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas, playing herself on Gossip Girl, befriending swingers, or squinting down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight. Crosley has taken up the gauntlets thrown by her predecessors--Dorothy Parker, Nora Ephron, David Sedaris--and crafted something rare, affecting, and true. Look Alive Out There arrives on the tenth anniversary of I Was Told There'd be Cake, and Crosley's essays have managed to grow simultaneously more sophisticated and even funnier. And yet she's still very much herself, and it's great to have her back--and not a moment too soon (or late, for that matter)
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Crosley, Sloane
Dewey number
814/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.R673
LC item number
A6 2018
Literary form
essays
Label
Look alive out there : essays, Sloane Crosley
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Up the down volcano
  • The
  • grape man
  • Right aid
  • Relative stranger
  • Brace yourself
  • Immediate family
  • Cinema of the confined
  • Wolf
  • Our hour is up
  • Wheels up
  • The
  • doctor is a woman
  • Outside voices
  • A
  • dog named Humphrey
  • You someday lucky
  • If you take the canoe out
  • The
  • chupacabra
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
240 pages
Isbn
9780374279844
Lccn
2017038323
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn988048540
  • (OCoLC)988048540
  • 975468
Label
Look alive out there : essays, Sloane Crosley
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Up the down volcano
  • The
  • grape man
  • Right aid
  • Relative stranger
  • Brace yourself
  • Immediate family
  • Cinema of the confined
  • Wolf
  • Our hour is up
  • Wheels up
  • The
  • doctor is a woman
  • Outside voices
  • A
  • dog named Humphrey
  • You someday lucky
  • If you take the canoe out
  • The
  • chupacabra
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
240 pages
Isbn
9780374279844
Lccn
2017038323
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn988048540
  • (OCoLC)988048540
  • 975468

Library Locations

    • Des Moines Public Library CentralBorrow it
      1000 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA, 50309, US
      41.5860906 -93.63119350000001
    • Des Moines Public Library Franklin AvenueBorrow it
      5000 Franklin Avenue, Des Moines, IA, 50310, US
      41.61090195 -93.68839790996259
    • Des Moines Public Library South SideBorrow it
      1111 Porter Avenue, Des Moines, IA, 50315, US
      41.535067749999996 -93.62965957439553
Processing Feedback ...