Coverart for item
The Resource Someone else's skin : [introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome], Sarah Hilary

Someone else's skin : [introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome], Sarah Hilary

Label
Someone else's skin : [introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome]
Title
Someone else's skin
Title remainder
[introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome]
Statement of responsibility
Sarah Hilary
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The debut of an exciting new series for fans of Sophie Hannah, Kate Atkinson, and Tana French. No two victims are alike. DI Marnie Rome knows this better than most. Five years ago, her family home was the scene of a shocking and bloody crime that left her parents dead and her foster brother in prison. Marnie doesn't talk much about her personal life, preferring to focus on work. Not even her partner, DS Noah Jake, knows much about Marnie's past. Though as one of the few gay officers on the force and half Jamaican to boot, Noah's not one to overshare about his private life either. Now Marnie and Noah are tackling a case of domestic violence, and a different brand of victim. Hope Proctor stabbed her husband in desperate self-defense. A crowd of witnesses in the domestic violence shelter where she's staying saw it happen, but none of them are telling quite the same story, and the simple question remains: how did Leo Proctor get in to the secure shelter? Marnie and Noah shouldn't even have been there when it happened but they were interviewing another resident, Ayana Mirza. They're trying to get Ayana to testify against her brothers for pouring bleach on her face for bringing dishonor the family, and blinding her in one eye. But Ayana knows that her brothers are looking for her, and she has no doubt that they'll kill her this time. As the violence spirals, engulfing the residents of the women's shelter, Marnie finds herself drawn into familiar territory: A place where the past casts long shadows and she must tread carefully to survive"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hilary, Sarah
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6108.I394
LC item number
S65 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women detectives
  • Women's shelters
  • Victims of family violence
Label
Someone else's skin : [introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome], Sarah Hilary
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
20 cm.
Extent
x, 405 pages
Isbn
9780143126188
Lccn
2014002352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • sky260101497
  • (OCoLC)881385675
  • 874361
Label
Someone else's skin : [introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome], Sarah Hilary
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
20 cm.
Extent
x, 405 pages
Isbn
9780143126188
Lccn
2014002352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • sky260101497
  • (OCoLC)881385675
  • 874361

Library Locations

    • Des Moines Public Library Franklin AvenueBorrow it
      5000 Franklin Avenue, Des Moines, IA, 50310, US
      41.61090195 -93.68839790996259
Processing Feedback ...